baobab3_edited.jpg

MADAGASCAR

The Island of Excessiveness

MADAGASCAR

« What an admirable country Madagascar is. It would deserve, not a wandering observer, but entire academies. It's in Madagascar that I have been able to announce to naturalists that this is the land of promise for them ; it's there that nature seems to have withdrawn into a sanctuary to work on other models[…]. The most unusual and marvellous forms are to be found at every step.»

Philibert Commerson, 1770

On this piece of Africa, detached from the original continent some 165 million years ago, nature evolves in a vacuum in the absence of large predators, developing an extraordinary fauna and flora. This extraordinary natural heritage, classified as one of the world's "megabiodiversity" hotspots, can be explained by the multitude of ecosystems on the world's fourth largest island.

From the great rainforests of the East, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, to the paradisiacal islands of Mitsio and Radamas in the North, while plunging deep into the limestone bowels of the "tsingy" and the mangroves of the West, from the cactus forests to the white sand dunes of the South, passing through the granite highlands and fertile rice fields of the centre, Madagascar will never cease to amaze you.

Lemurs, baobabs, chameleons, tortoises, pachypodium, humpback whales, etc. are all species to be discovered and for which conservation issues are extremely important.


The last great land conquered by man, Madagascar has about twenty ethnic groups of Asian, African and Arab origins.


Whether you are in "Sakalava", "Vezo", "Merina", "Zafimaniry" or "Mikea" country, this extraordinary cultural diversity is a journey in itself..

Madascarenes - Madagascar
QUATUOR 2.jpg
Madascarenes - Madagascar

MADASCARENES's expert

goodman_steven_download_1.jpeg

Steven M. Goodman

An American biologist and species conservationist, he is a member of the Department of Zoology at the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago.

Steven has been living in Madagascar for more than 40 years and is undoubtedly the world's best specialist on the island. The author of numerous reference works, he is the head of Vahatra, an NGO whose objective is to work on the study and conservation of Madagascar's biodiversity.

baobab3_edited.jpg

MADAGASCAR

L'île de la démesure

MADAGASCAR

« Quel admirable pays que Madagascar. Il mériterait, non pas un observateur ambulant, mes des académies entières. C’est à Madagascar que j’ai pu annoncer aux naturalistes qu’est la terre de promissions pour eux ; c’est là que la nature semble s’être retirée dans un sanctuaire pour y travailler sur d’autres modèles […]. Les formes les plus insolites, les plus merveilleuses s’y rencontrent à chaque pas.»

Philibert Commerson, 1770

Sur ce morceau d’Afrique détaché du continent originel il y environ 165 millions d’années, la nature évolue en vase clos en l’absence de grands prédateurs, développant une faune et une flore hors du commun. Cet extraordinaire patrimoine naturel, classé parmi les hauts lieux de la « mégabiodiversité » mondiale, s’explique notamment par la multitude des écosystèmes de la 4ème plus grande île du monde.

Des grandes forêts humides de l’Est inscrites au Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO, aux îles paradisiaques des Mitsio et des Radamas au Nord tout en plongeant au fond des entrailles calcaires des « tsingy » et des mangroves de l’Ouest, des forêts de cactées aux dunes de sables blanc du Sud en passant par les hauts plateaux granitiques et les rizières fertiles du centre, … Madagascar n’aura cesse de vous surprendre.

Lémuriens, baobabs, caméléons, tortues terrestres, pachypodium, baleines à bosse,… sont autant d’espèces à découvrir et pour lesquelles les enjeux de conservation sont extrêmement importants.


Dernière grande terre conquise par l’homme, Madagascar compte une vingtaine d’ethnies d’origines asiatiques, africaines et arabes.


Que vous soyez en pays « Sakalava », « Vezo », « Merina », « Zafimaniry » ou « Mikea », cette extraordinaire diversité culturelle constitue un voyage en soit.

Madascarenes - Madagascar
Madascarenes - Madagascar
QUATUOR 2.jpg
Madascarenes - Madagascar

NOTRE EXPERT MADASCARENES

goodman_steven_download_1.jpeg

Steven M. Goodman

Biologiste américain, spécialiste de la conservation des espèces, il est membre du Département de zoologie du Field Museum of Natural History de Chicago.

Installé à Madagascar depuis plus de 40 ans, Steven est sans doute le meilleur spécialiste mondial de la grande Ile. Auteur de très nombreux ouvrages de référence, il est à la tête de Vahatra, une ONG dont l'objectif est de travailler sur l'étude et la conservation de la biodiversité malgache.