cave2 HD.jpg

The AGENCY

MADASCARENES creates exclusive experiences and

journeys through the islands of the Indian Ocean.

We cater for discerning guests looking for total disconnection and extraordinary adventures.

Based in the heart of the Indian Ocean, our team of internationally renowned specialists is our key to bringing you best of this region of the world. The genesis of a volcanic eruption at the Piton de la Fournaise, going head to head with a giant tortoise in Aldabra in the Seychelles, meeting the lemurs of Ranomafana in Madagascar, diving on the coral reefs of the Canal du Mozambique : so many thrills that we want you to experience...

At your own pace, alone, as a couple, with family or friends but always according to your aspirations, feed us your dreams and prepare yourself for unexpected emotions.

FOUNDING MEMBERS

IMG_4743.JPG
Christophe CAUMES, founder

« My roots are in the heart of the Indian Ocean. I am what is called a Yab because I was born on the heights of Reunion Island at the foot of the Piton de La Fournaise volcano.

Thanks to my parents, my childhood curiosity is satisfied by Nature and all that it can bring me in terms of wonders, remedies, experiences...

It is this that opened the way for me to become a mountain guide, climbing and canyoning instructor. It's still the mountain that calls me to work alongside scientists of all kinds, film-makers and major magazines to guide them, to study it and to sublimate it in its most inaccessible corners. It naturally led me to the National Park of Reunion Island where I worked for the inscription of the Pitons, Cirques and Remparts on the UNESCO list of natural World Heritage sites. Ten years later, having become an agent of the Ministry of the Environment, I am still as intoxicated by all these beautiful expeditions on the trail of animals or plants presumed to have disappeared.

Relying on a solid international network of scientific and naturalist friends as well as on my thirst to transmit my passion for Nature and History of Indian Ocean's islands, I created MADASCARENES.»

+262 (0) 692 449 197

Sarah CAUMES, co-founder

« I define myself as a girl of world. My childhood was made up of travel and openness to others thanks to my parents who were passionate about travel, art and history. I grew up in Mayotte at the rhythm of the school benches where I was one of the only white girls for whom the call of the Mouedzine meant the departure for almost daily dives with my parents... I spent my teenage years in Vanuatu (formely the "New Hebrides") in the Pacific Ocean in heart of an archipelago of more than 80 islands full of wild nature and mysticism. I lived in Australia for a year to perfect my English and then joined my parents in Reunion Island. This is where I met Christophe...

After a degree in foreign languages and tourism, I became a social worker and dedicated myself to the most disadvantaged. MADASCARENES is for me an evidence : ecotourism, the real one, is one of the solutions to pass on to our children a living planet with happy men and women.

Parents of two children, whom we awaken to respect the wonders of nature and mankind, we intend to participate in the creation of a new model, a new approach to travel: experiential, responsible, and participatory. »

04082017-Famille-by-DG-Photographer-118.
ecotourisme%252520bandeau%252520de%25252
 

ECO-TOURISM

Choosing MADASCARENES means committing

to live an experience that is pure, ethical, civic-minded

and fully aware of the challenges and threats facing

the last sanctuaries on our planet.

Convinced that a living nature enhances human happiness and artistic creativity,

5% of the total cost of your stay is donated to a local research,

conservation of development project.

Miavana by Time + Tide 94.jpg
 

madascarenes PARTNERS

Our close relationships with renowned scientists, managers of protected natural areas,

heritage conservationists and some village communities will allow you to experience privileged and authentic moments.

cave2 HD.jpg

l'agence

MADASCARENES crée des expériences et des voyages exclusifs à travers les îles de l’océan Indien.

Nous nous adressons à des hôtes exigeants, en quête de déconnexion totale et d'aventures extraordinaires.

Basée au cœur de l’océan Indien, notre équipe de spécialistes de renommée internationale est notre pièce maîtresse pour vous offrir ce que cette région du monde a de meilleur. Genèse d’une éruption volcanique au Piton de la Fournaise, tête à tête avec une tortue géante à Aldabra aux Seychelles, rencontre avec les lémuriens de Ranomafana à Madagascar, plongée sur les récifs coralliens du Canal du Mozambique : autant de frissons que nous souhaitons vous faire vivre...

A votre rythme, seul(e), en couple, en famille ou entre amis mais toujours selon vos aspirations, nourrissez-nous de vos rêves et préparez-vous à des émotions inattendues

MEMBRES FONDATEURS

IMG_4743.JPG
Christophe CAUMES, fondateur

« Mes racines s’ancrent au cœur de l’océan Indien. Je suis ce qu’on appelle un Yab car je suis né sur les hauteurs de l’île de La Réunion au pied du volcan du Piton de La Fournaise.

Grâce à mes parents, ma curiosité d’enfant est assouvie par La Nature et tout ce qu’elle peut m’apporter comme émerveillements, remèdes, expériences…

C’est elle qui m’ouvre la voie pour devenir guide de montagne, moniteur d’escalade et de canyoning. C’est elle encore qui m’appelle aux côtés de scientifiques de tous bords, de cinéastes ou de grands magazines pour les guider, venir l’étudier et la sublimer dans ses recoins les plus inaccessibles. Elle me conduit tout naturellement au Parc national de La Réunion où je  travaille pour l’inscription des Pitons, Cirques et Remparts sur la liste des biens naturels du Patrimoine Mondial de l’UNESCO.  Dix ans plus tard, devenu agent du Ministère de l’Environnement, je m’enivre toujours autant de toutes ces belles expéditions sur les traces d’animaux ou de plantes présumés disparus.

M’appuyant sur un solide réseau international d’amis scientifiques et naturalistes ainsi que sur ma soif de transmettre ma passion pour la Nature et l’Histoire des îles de l’océan Indien,  je crée MADASCARENES. »

+262 (0) 692 449 197

Sarah CAUMES, co-fondatrice

« Je me définis comme une fille du monde. Mon enfance est faîte de voyages et d’ouvertures aux autres grâce à mes parents passionnés de voyages, d’Art et d’Histoire. Je grandi à Mayotte au rythme des bancs de l’école où je suis l’une des seules petites blanches pour qui l’appel du Mouedzine  signifie le départ pour des plongées quasi quotidiennes avec mes parents… Je passe mon adolescence au Vanuatu (anciennes « Nouvelles Hébrides ») dans l’océan Pacifique au cœur d’un archipel de plus de 80 îles empruntes de nature sauvage et de mysticisme. Je vis une année en Australie pour parfaire mon anglais puis rejoint mes parents à l’île de La Réunion. C’est là que je rencontre Christophe…

Après une licence en langues étrangères et en tourisme, je deviens travailleur social et me consacre aux plus démunis. MADASCARENES est pour moi une évidence : l’écotourisme, le vrai, est l’une des solutions pour transmettre à nos enfants une planète vivante avec des hommes et des femmes heureux.

Parents de deux enfants, que nous éveillons au respect des merveilles de la nature et des hommes, nous entendons participer à la création d’un nouveau modèle, d’une nouvelle approche du voyage : expériencielle, responsable, et participative.

04082017-Famille-by-DG-Photographer-118.
ecotourisme%252520bandeau%252520de%25252
 

ECO-TOURISME

Choisir MADASCARENES c’est s’engager à vivre

une expérience pure, éthique, citoyenne et en pleine conscience des enjeux et menaces qui pèsent sur les derniers sanctuaires de notre planète.

Convaincus qu’une nature vivante sublime le bonheur et la créativité artistique des hommes, 5% du coût global de votre séjour est reversé à une action locale de recherche, de conservation ou de développement.

Miavana by Time + Tide 94.jpg
 

madascarenes PARTENAIRES

Nos étroites relations avec des scientifiques de renom, des gestionnaires d’espaces naturels protégés, des acteurs de la conservation des patrimoines ainsi que certaines communautés villageoises, vous permettront de vivre des moments privilégiés et authentiques.